MJ

When Michael Jackson passed away, I took it very, very hard.  I’m usually an emotional person, but this time I recognized that heavy feeling in my chest as mourning. It should not have surprised me – I have listened to his music daily since the age of 11. His music made me happy, I loved to watch him dance – he was a part of my life. So I cried and I cried and I couldn’t watch all the impromptu documentaries nor could I watch the funeral.

Three weeks after his death, I was in my car on my way to pick Lewis up from school when a Michael Jackson song came on the radio. I was unable to stop the tears, and then the crying, that followed. I turned the song off and wiped my eyes as best I could when I arrived at my son’s school. Lewis got into the car, took one look at me and said, “Is it Michael again?”

He knows me too well.

On a wonderful note, I recently went to Powell Symphony Hall to hear the SLSO play the music of Michael Jackson with my high school bestie! Amy and I had a GREAT time (there were minimal tears on my part).

Categories: The Humorous Joys of Motherhood | Tags: | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

